IFA2 Fareham substation

Fareham-substation Peter-Facey-cc-by-SA2.0
Morgan Sindall
South-east Hampshire
Feb 2018
Dec 2019

VGC is providing skilled trades and labour to the project to build a new sub-station at Solent airport near Fareham. This will be part of the system connecting high voltage subsea cabling to the National Grid.

Our teams have been working on drainage across the site as well as building the substation reinforced concrete foundations. Our skilled workforce includes plant operatives, logistics staff, groundworkers, and shuttering carpenters.

This project involves in building the UK converter buildings which will be the first visible structures at the site. Due for completion in summer 2019, the steel structures will house the key elements of the converter station including the AC and DC electrical equipment.

Sam and Luke on drainage at Fareham
Sam Stott and Luke Brown working on the drainage at Fareham

The 1GW IFA2 project is part of National Grid upgrade works. Morgan Sindall has been retained by ABB to assist with building one of two high-voltage direct current HVDC (high-voltage direct current) converter stations, which will be linked with a subsea cable. They will convert direct current electricity (DC) which is used to carry power between the countries into alternating current (AC) electricity which we use in our homes.

The ABB contract, worth about €270 million, is sponsored by the UK grid operator National Grid and Réseau de Transport d’Electricité. The project to help interconnect the electricity networks of UK and France has received EUR 5,957 million funding from the Connecting Europe Facility.

IFA2 (Interconnexion France-Angleterre 2) will connect to the electricity transmission network in Great Britain at an existing National Grid site off Chilling Lane near Chilling in Hampshire. Commissioning is scheduled for 2020.

We have worked for Morgan Sindall on other National Grid substation projects including Canterbury, Richborough and Sundon (near Luton).

Photograph: Peter Facey (cc-by-sa/2.0)